Warning! OUTDATED BROWSER DETECTED!   Please update your browser immediately for a better experience on this website. Learn More
  • First Impression

    August 1, 2018

    RSNA Announces 2018 Gold Medalists

    The RSNA Board of Directors has announced the Gold Medal recipients who will be honored at the 104th Scientific Assembly and Annual Meeting.

    DonaldsonSarah S. Donaldson, MD
    Stanford, CA
    CasarellaWilliam J. Casarella, MD
    LevineDeborah Levine, MD

    2018 Logo

    Johnson Appointed Radiology Chair at MCG


    Annette J. Johnson, MD, has been appointed chair of the Department of Radiology and Imaging at the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University.

    A neuroradiologist who specializes in brain tumor imaging, Dr. Johnson most recently served as chair of quality and patient experience in the Department of Radiology at Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Winston-Salem, NC. She has served as faculty and moderator for several RSNA annual meetings and is a former member of the RSNA Health Services Policy & Research Scientific Program Committee.

    CP logo 

    RSNA values its industry partners that help keep radiology at the forefront of science and technology. Thank you to all our Corporate Partners.

    Gold Corporate Partners

    • Bayer
    • Canon Medical Systems
    • Change Healthcare
    • Hitachi Healthcare Americas
    • Hologic
    • Philips
    • Siemens Healthineers

    Digital First: New RSNA Patient-Centered Care Modules Available for Radiology Residency Programs Read More

    11th Annual QIBA Meeting Held at RSNA Headquarters

    Giger  Giger
    Ratain  Ratain
    Krishnan  Krishnan

    QIBA Logo 

    Approximately 60 attendees gathered for the 2018 Quantitative Imaging Biomarkers Alliance® (QIBA) Annual Meeting held in May at RSNA Headquarters, Oak Brook, IL.

    Stakeholders from academia, the medical device and pharmaceutical industries and government agencies including the National Cancer Institute/National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Standards and Technology and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, attended the two-day meeting featuring plenary and panel discussions focused on the value of quantitative imaging (QI) in medicine.

    Maryellen Giger, PhD, the A.N. Pritzker professor of radiology at the University of Chicago, discussed the role of QI in the era of machine learning, artificial intelligence and radiomics; Mark J. Ratain, MD, director of the Center for Personalized Therapeutics at the University of Chicago, spoke on the value of QI in clinical trials; and Ranga Krishnan, MB, ChB, dean of Rush Medical School, Chicago, addressed the value of QI in the assessment and treatment of brain disorders.

    Panel discussions focused on sharing ideas for integrating QI and QIBA Profiles into clinical practice. Biomarker Committees discussed groundwork projects and ways to advance Profile development and associated strategies for Profile deployment and adoption.

    In addition, representatives from the European Imaging Biomarkers Alliance (EIBALL) and the Japan Radiological Society (JRS) updated members on collaborative efforts with QIBA.

    QIBA continues to grow and now has 18 Biomarker Committees and numerous Task Forces.

    Visit RSNA.org/QIBA for more information.

    Digital First: RSNA's New Journal, Radiology: Artificial Intelligence, Now Accepting Submissions Read More

    Digital First: Register for RSNA's First Artificial Intelligence (AI) Webinar in August Read More


    McGinty Elected ACR Chair

    McGinty  McGinty

    The American College of Radiology (ACR) Board of Chancellors has elected Geraldine McGinty, MD, MBA, as chair. Dr. McGinty is the first woman elected chair of the board in the nearly 100-year history of the ACR.

    Dr. McGinty is a practicing radiologist in New York City and a faculty member at Weill Cornell Medicine, where she serves as the chief strategy officer and chief contracting officer for the Weill Cornell Physician Organization. She has served as faculty and moderator for several RSNA annual meetings.

    Also elected were Howard B. Fleishon, MD, MMM, who will serve as vice chair, James A. Brink, MD, who will serve as president, and Marta Hernanz-Schulman, MD, who will serve as vice president. The new officers were elected at the ACR 2018 Annual Meeting held in Washington, DC.

    In Memoriam


    Edgardo “Eddie” Angtuaco, MD

    Edgardo “Eddie” Angtuaco, MD, professor of radiology and former chief, Division of Neuroradiology at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Little Rock, died May 28 in Little Rock. He was 69.

    Dr. Angtuaco received his medical degree from the University of Philippines, Quezon City, Philippines. He completed his residency at Boston City Hospital, Boston and his fellowship at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. His wife, Teresita L. Angtuaco, MD, is chief, Division of Body Imaging and professor of radiology, obstetrics and gynecology at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.

    A lifelong supporter of the importance of radiologic education and research, Dr. Angtuaco worked tirelessly for RSNA for many years. He served on the RSNA Research & Education (R&E) Foundation’s Scholar Advisor Panel and was a Presidents Circle Donor, Visionary Donor and Centennial Pathfinder for the Foundation. In addition, Dr. Angtuaco served as chair of the RSNA Neuroradiology Education Exhibits Committee and as RSNA faculty at several annual meetings.

    Numbers in the News

    2,105 Number of women in a new study showing that optoacoustic imaging is effective in differentiating benign from malignant breast masses. Read more.

    264 Number of individuals awarded ABR IR/DR certification as of June 2018. Read more.

    200 Approximate number of patients brought before one radiologist during the terrorist attack in Nice, France, in 2016. Read more.