RSNA 2018 Meeting Experience

RSNA 2018 offers a variety of opportunities to learn about “Tomorrow’s Radiology Today.” Whether you are planning to attend in-person or via the Virtual Meeting, learn more about the resources available to enhance your annual meeting experience.

RSNA 2018 will feature plenary session lectures on the innovations, imaging science and technology that are driving the future of radiology. Held throughout the meeting, the plenary sessions offer a glimpse into the cutting-edge research that is leading radiology forward. In addition, several distinguished physicians will be honored during RSNA 2018. Scroll down for biographies of all the honorees and plenary speakers, including overviews of the plenary session lectures.

Plenary Speakers

Dr. Rao

Vijay M. Rao, MD
How Emerging Technology Will Empower Tomorrow’s Radiologists to Provide Better Patient Care

President’s Address
Sunday, November 25, at 8:30 AM

Dr. Recht

Michael P. Recht, MD 
Artificial Intelligence, Analytics, and Informatics: The Future is Here

Annual Oration in Diagnostic Radiology
Sunday, November 25, at 8:30 AM

Dr. Berwick

Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP  
Can Clinicians Lead Radical Redesign?

Plenary Lecture
Monday, November 26, at 1:30 PM

Dr. Aberle

Denise R. Aberle, MD  
Contemporary CT of the Indeterminate Lung Nodule: Where We Are and Why it Matters

RSNA/AAPM Symposium
Tuesday, November 27, at 10:30 AM

Dr. McCollogh

Cynthia McCollough, PhD 
CT Technology – and Dose – in the 21st Century

RSNA/AAPM Symposium
Tuesday, November 27, at 10:30 AM

Dr. Forsberg

Flemming Forsberg, PhD  
Oscillating Microbubbles – Driving Innovation in Ultrasound

New Horizons Lecture
Tuesday, November 27, at 1:30 PM

Dr. Forementi

Silvia C. Formenti, MD 
Radiotherapy to Convert the Tumor into an In Situ Vaccine

Annual Oration in Radiation Oncology
Wednesday, November 28, at 1:30 PM

Dr. Li

Fei-Fei Li, PhD 
Toward Ambient Intelligence in AI-Assisted Healthcare Spaces

Plenary Lecture
Thursday, November 29, at 2:00 PM

2018 Distinguished Honorees

Dr. Yousem

David M. Yousem, MD 

Outstanding Educator 

Dr. Meltzer

Carolyn C. Meltzer, MD 

Outstanding Researcher 

Bhar Gava

Sneh Bhargava, MD 

Honorary Member 

Dr. Parizel

Paul M. Parizel, MD, PhD 

Honorary Member 

Dr. Sosna

Jacob Sosna, MD 

Honorary Member 

Dr. Donaldson

Sarah S. Donaldson, MD 

Gold Medalist 

Dr. Levine

Deborah Levine, MD 

Gold Medalist 

Dr. Casarella

William J. Casarella, MD  

Gold Medalist 

2018 Honored Educator Award

RSNA congratulates the 2018 Honored Educator award recipients for their dedication to furthering educational scholarship in the field of radiology. Award recipients will be recognized at the 2018 RSNA Annual Meeting.

This year’s recipients:
Sonia L. Betancourt Cuellar, MD
Sanjeev Bhalla, MD
Nishat Bharwani, FRCR, MBBS
Ruth C. Carlos, MD, MS
Brett W. Carter, MD
Khaled M. Elsayes, MD
Elliot K. Fishman, MD
Bryan R. Foster, MD
Alexander R. Guimaraes, MD, PhD
Richard B. Gunderman, MD, PhD
Kate Hanneman, MD, FRCPC
Cameron Hassani, MD
Jeffrey G. Jarvik, MD
Charles E. Kahn Jr, MD, MS
Douglas S. Katz, MD
Anne M. Kennedy, MD
Bharti Khurana, MD
David B. Larson, MD
Angela D. Levy, MD
Brent Little, MD
Meghan G. Lubner, MD
Antonio Luna, MD
David A. Mankoff, MD, PhD
Edith M. Marom, MD
George R. Matcuk Jr, MD
Vincent M. Mellnick, MD
Christine O. Menias, MD
Frank H. Miller, MD
Pardeep K. Mittal, MD
Toshio Moritani, MD, PhD
Pedro Panizza, MD
Dakshesh B. Patel, MD
Perry J. Pickhardt, MD
Carlos S. Restrepo, MD
Maryam Rezvani, MD
Melissa L. Rosado de Christenson, MD
Kumaresan Sandrasegaran, MD
Akram M. Shaaban, MBBCh
Achint K. Singh, MD
Aaron D. Sodickson, MD, PhD
Jorge A. Soto, MD
An Tang, MD
Mylene T. Truong, MD
Jeffrey C. Weinreb, MD
Max Wintermark, MD

Trainee Research Prize, Neuroradiology Research Award

RSNA awards the Trainee Research Prize to honor an outstanding scientific presentation in each subspecialty presented by a resident/physics trainee, fellow or medical student. One trainee research prize in breast imaging is endowed by Tapan K. Chaudhuri, MD.A list of Trainee Research Prize recipients can be viewed in the Learning Center. Funded with a donation from Kuo York Chynn, MD, the Kuo York Chynn Neuroradiology Research Award is presented annually tothe top neuroradiology research paper presented at the RSNA annual meeting.

Travel Award

The Travel Awards for young investigators support candidates invited to present high-quality science. Scientific abstracts from currentRSNA members who are presently enrolled in a full-time undergraduate or graduate program; clinical trainees who are currentlyenrolled in a full-time clinical training program; or postdoctoral trainees who were awarded a doctorate or equivalent degree no morethan three years ago, were eligible for the award. A list of the Travel Award recipients can be viewed in the Learning Center.

Alexander R. Margulis Award for Scientific Excellence

The annual award recognizing the best original scientific articles published in Radiology is named for Alexander R. Margulis, MD, adistinguished investigator and inspiring visionary in the science of radiology who died Sept. 7, 2018. The honoree will be revealed atthe beginning of the Monday Plenary Session. After the award is presented, reprints of the honored article will be available for free atthe Membership & Resources Booth in the Connections Center at RSNA 2018.