Warning! OUTDATED BROWSER DETECTED!   Please update your browser immediately for a better experience on this website. Learn More
  • To:
  • First Impression

    June 01, 2013

    Numbers in the News

    Percentage of adult Americans who could be affected by obstructive sleep apnea syndrome (OSAS). Find out how advancements in dynamic CT and MR imaging are proving successful in diagnosing and treating OSAS here.

    Percent chance a radiologist has of being a defendant in at least one malpractice lawsuit by age 60, according to a recent study. Learn about this study and another, both published in the February issue of Radiology, that examined the frequency with which radiologists are sued, and the reasons why, here.

    Patients with acute stroke whose CT brain scans were simultaneously interpreted by radiologists at the hospital and by telestroke doctors with smartphones, for a recent study. The level of agreement between reviewers was 92 to 100 percent. Learn more about the smartphone app used in the study and the implications of the results here.

    Three-year survival rate for patients with inoperable lung cancer treated with stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT), according to a recent study. Learn more about the potential for SBRT to become the standard treatment for early stage, medically inoperable non-small cell lung cancer here.

    Distinguished Honorees and Lecturers

    The RSNA Board of Directors has announced the distinguished award recipients to whom the Society will pay tribute at the 99th Scientific Assembly and Annual Meeting. They are:

    Theresa C. McLoud, M.D.
    Harvey L. Neiman, M.D.
    J. Frank Wilson, M.D.


    Theresa C. McLoud, M.D.

    Harvey L. Neiman, M.D.
    Reston, Va. 

    J. Frank Wilson, M.D.

    Gabriel P. Krestin, M.D., Ph.D.
    Anne W. Lee, M.D.
    Malgorzata Szczerbo-Trojanowska, M.D.


    Gabriel P. Krestin, M.D., Ph.D.
    Rotterdam, Netherlands 

    Anne W. Lee, M.D.
    Shenzhen, China 

    Malgorzata Szczerbo-
    Trojanowska, M.D.
    Lublin, Poland 

    Philip E.S. Palmer, M.D.
    RSNA 2013 logo 

    Program Dedication

    RSNA will dedicate its 2013 annual meeting program to the memory of Philip E.S. Palmer, M.D.


    ESR Honors Dignitaries at Annual Meeting

    ESR Bisset
    2012 RSNA President George S. Bisset III, M.D. (center), received honorary membership in the European Society of Radiology (ESR) from 2013 European Congress of Radiology President José Ignacio Bilbao, M.D., Ph.D. (left), and 2013 ESR President Gabriel P. Krestin, M.D., Ph.D.

    2012 RSNA President George S. Bisset III, M.D., was named an honorary member of the European Society of Radiology (ESR) at the European Congress of Radiology (ECR) in Vienna, Austria, in March. Dr. Bisset is chief of pediatric radiology at Texas Children’s Hospital and Edward B. Singleton Professor of Radiology at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston.

    Also receiving honorary ESR membership were Tarek A. El-Diasty, M.D., a professor of radiology and chair of the radiology department at the Urology and Nephrology Centre, Mansoura University, Egypt, and Gary M. Glazer, M.D., who served as chair of the Department of Radiology and the Emma Pfeiffer Merner Professor of the Medical Sciencesat Stanford University School of Medicine, California, for more than 20 years. RSNA awarded Dr. Glazer its Gold Medal in 2009. He passed away in 2011.

    Gold Medals were also bestowed at ECR 2013:

    • José Cáceres, M.D., a professor and former head of diagnostic radiology at H.G.U. Vall d’Hebron Universidad Autonoma, Barcelona, Spain.
    • Johannes Lammer, M.D., vice-chair of the Department of Radiology and director of cardiovascular and interventional radiology at the Medical University of Vienna.
    • Maximilian F. Reiser, M.D., a professor of radiology, chair of the Department of Clinical Radiology and dean of medicine at Ludwig Maximilians University of Munich. RSNA awarded Honorary Membership to Dr. Reiser in 2008. He is a member of RSNA’s Public Information Advisors Network.

    In Memoriam

     John M. Dennis, M.D.John M. Dennis, M.D., a nationally renowned radiologist and former dean of the University of Maryland School of Medicine (UMSM), Baltimore, passed away January 17, 2013. He was 90.

    Dr. Dennis began his career in 1951 at UMSM as an instructor in the radiology department. Two years later, he was named professor and the first full-time chair of the department, a position he held until 1973 when he was appointed acting dean of the medical school. He was named dean in 1974, vice-chancellor for health affairs in 1975 and vice-president for academic affairs in 1983. Dr. Dennis was named dean emeritus in 1990 and professor emeritus in diagnostic radiology in 1995.

    Dr. Dennis earned his medical degree from UMSM in 1945. He served in the Air Force from 1946 to 1948 as chief of radiology at the Station Hospital, Langley Air Force Base in Virginia.

    Dr. Dennis served as president of the American College of Radiology (ACR) and chair of its Board of Chancellors. His many honors include gold medals from ACR and the American Roentgen Ray Society.

    comments powered by Disqus