Warning! OUTDATED BROWSER DETECTED!   Please update your browser immediately for a better experience on this website. Learn More
  • First Impression

    May 1, 2017

    ABR Names Wagner as President-Elect

    Wagner Wagner

    Brent J. Wagner, MD, was recently named president-elect of the American Board of Radiology (ABR).

    Dr. Wagner, a diagnostic radiologist with a subspecialty in body imaging, has been a member of West Reading Radiology Associates, a private practice in West Reading, PA, since 1998 and is currently its president. He is a former medical staff president of the Reading Health System.

    He has served on the ABR board since 2011 and is currently a member of ABR’s board of governors.

    Dr. Wagner serves on the RSNA Professionalism Committee and is chair of Genitourinary Imaging for the RadioGraphics Editorial Board. He is also a member of the RSNA Research & Education Foundation Individual Giving Subcommittee.

    SIR Honors Gade with Becker Young Investigator Award

    Terence P. Gade, MD, PhD, received the Society of Interventional Radiology (SIR) Foundation’s Dr. Gary J. Becker Young Investigator Award during the recent SIR annual meeting in Washington, DC. The award recognizes promising young practitioners to encourage the pursuit of academic careers.

    Gade Gade


    An assistant professor of radiology at the University of Pennsylvania Medical Center in Philadelphia, Dr. Gade is co-founder and co-director of the Penn Image-Guided Interventions Laboratory.

    Dr. Gade received the 2012 Cook Medical Cesare Gianturco/RSNA Research Resident Grant and a 2014 Roentgen Resident/Fellow Research Award from the RSNA Research & Education Foundation. Dr. Gade is the first radiologist to receive the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Director’s Early Independence Award for exceptional early career scientists, which allows recipients to move rapidly into independent research roles at U.S. institutions by essentially omitting the traditional post-doctoral training period.

    AUR Announces 2017 Honorees

    Bradely Bradley
    Chertoff Chertoff
    Arenson Arenson

    William G. Bradley, Jr., MD, PhD, and Jocelyn D. Chertoff, MD, MS, will receive gold medals from the Association of University Radiologists (AUR) during its annual meeting this month in Hollywood, FL.

    Other award recipients from AUR’s affiliated societies include former RSNA president Ronald L. Arenson, MD, who will receive the Society of Chairs of Academic Radiology Departments (SCARD) Visionary Leadership Award.

    Dr. Bradley, distinguished professor emeritus at the University of California, San Diego, received an RSNA Gold Medal in 2003. He served on the RSNA Research & Education (R&E) Foundation Board of Trustees and is a co-chair of the R&E Foundation Inspire-Innovate-Invest Campaign. He also serves as a Refresher Course Committee track chair.

    Dr. Chertoff, chair of radiology and professor of radiology, and professor of obstetrics and gynecology at the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth University in Lebanon, NH, has served on the RSNA Outstanding Researcher/Educator Award Review Panel and as a faculty member at multiple RSNA annual meetings.

    Dr. Arenson is the Alexander R. Margulis Distinguished Professor and chair of the Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging at the University of California, San Francisco. Dr. Arenson’s lengthy service to RSNA includes serving as a member of the RSNA Board of Directors, and as RSNA president in 2015. He is a current member of the RSNA R&E Foundation Board of Trustees.

    Numbers in the News

    3 The number of roles 3-D printing — which is revolutionizing radiology — plays in the clinic. Read more.

    45Number of host countries visited by RSNA’s International Visiting Professors Program since the first trip 30 years ago. Read more.

    49 The percentage drop in the demand for the medical isotope Tc-99m among Medicare Part B recipients between 2006 and 2014. The reduction could offset the expected shortage in the isotope used in nuclear imaging scans. Read more.

    In Memoriam

    Former RSNA Executive Director Adele Swenson Dies

    swenson Swenson

    Former RSNA executive director Adele Swenson died Mar. 19, in Hillsboro, ND, at age 95.

    Ms. Swenson served as RSNA executive director from 1971 to 1985, and shepherded the Society through major changes. She was instrumental in relocating the annual meeting from The Palmer House Hilton to its current location, McCormick Place in Chicago. She led the RSNA Board of Directors in establishing the Research & Education (R&E) Fund, later renamed the R&E Foundation, and under her leadership RSNA launched a second journal, RadioGraphics. During her 14 years of service, Ms. Swenson helped develop RSNA into the global society it is today.

    “RSNA was blessed to have Ms. Swenson as executive director during a critical period of its history,” Robert E. Campbell, MD, RSNA past president, said. “Adele approached her many innovative ideas with enthusiasm and skill, always concentrating on an unrelenting attention to details until success was accomplished, and she gracefully demanded a similar approach by her staff.”

    Born in Kindred, ND, Ms. Swenson attended Jamestown College in North Dakota on a full academic scholarship and earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in economics. Upon graduation she went to Washington, D.C., to work for the U.S. government, and eventually took a position with the Navy human resources department, where she worked with First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt on job training programs for veterans and women.

    After working for a printing company in St. Paul, MN, Ms. Swenson took an administrative position with the Girl Scouts of the United States of America, later becoming executive director of the River Trails Girl Scout Council in Rochester, MN. It was her work there that drew the attention of RSNA Board members when they were searching for a new executive director in 1971.

    A dedicated volunteer, Ms. Swenson worked with low-income children and seniors, and she managed her church’s newsletter. She was recognized many times for her leadership and service, receiving the RSNA Gold Medal in 1984 and the American Association for Women Radiologists’ Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award in 1989. In tribute to her service to the Society, RSNA awarded the Adele Swenson Research Resident Grant in 2010. Most recently she received the Harold Schafer Leadership Award in 2016 from the University of Mary in North Dakota, where she served on the board of regents.

    “Adele’s legacy is reflected in the RSNA executive directors who have followed her,” Dr. Campbell said. “She accomplished all this with wisdom and modesty, never accepting credit for herself, but always directing credit to the Board of Directors, the many RSNA volunteers and her staff.”