Warning! OUTDATED BROWSER DETECTED!   Please update your browser immediately for a better experience on this website. Learn More
  • To:
  • First Impression

    September 01, 2013

    Numbers in the News

    The number of live streaming courses available via the RSNA 2013 Virtual Meeting. Read more at RSNA.org/virtual.

    Drop in the percentage of sedations for pediatric CT procedures at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center from 2005-2007 since launching a kid-friendly Adventure Series program in the Pediatric Radiology Department. Read more here.

    The approximate number of French attendees at RSNA 2012, the highest attendance from a country outside of North America. The contributions of French radiologists will be highlighted in the RSNA 2013 “France Presents” session detailed here.

    The number of feet above ground the Skydeck Chicago in Willis Tower stands, offering views up to 60 miles. Read about this and other Windy City attractions in our annual Chicago Events preview here.

    ARRS Names Officers, Awards Gold Medals

    Norman J. Beauchamp Jr., M.D., M.H.S.
    Melissa Rosado de Christenson, M.D.
    Rosado de
    Jonathan S. Lewin, M.D.
    Bernard F. King, M.D.

    Norman J. Beauchamp Jr., M.D., M.H.S., was named the American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) 2013-14 president at the society’s recent annual meeting in Washington. Dr. Beauchamp is a professor and chair of the Department of Radiology at the University of Washington, Seattle. Dr. Beauchamp is a member of the RSNA Refresher Course Committee and president-elect of the Society of Chairs of Academic Radiology Departments (SCARD).

    Other 2013-14 officers are: president-elect, Melissa Rosado de Christenson, M.D., a clinical professor of radiology at St. Luke’s Hospital in Kansas City, Mo., and an RSNA 2012 Honored Educator Award recipient; vice-president, Jonathan S. Lewin, M.D., Martin Donner Professor and chair of the Russell H. Morgan Department of Radiology and Radiological Science at The Johns Hopkins University, radiologist-in-chief at Johns Hopkins Hospital with secondary professor appointments in oncology, neurosurgery, and biomedical engineering, and the RSNA 2012 Honored Educator Award recipient; and secretary/treasurer, Bernard F. King, M.D., chair of the Radiology Department at the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn.

    John R. Haaga, M.D.
    Satoshi Minoshima, M.D., Ph.D.
    Joseph K.T. Lee, M.D.

    ARRS gold medals were awarded to John R. Haaga, M.D., Satoshi Minoshima, M.D., Ph.D., and Joseph K.T. Lee, M.D. 

    Dr. Haaga is a tenured professor and emeritus chair of the Department of Radiology at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine and University Hospitals Case Medical Center, both in Cleveland.

    Dr. Minoshima is a professor and vice-chair in the Department of Radiology at the University of Washington in Seattle. Dr. Minoshima chairs the Molecular Imaging Abstract Review subcommittees of the RSNA Scientific Program Committee and Education Exhibits Committee and is vice-chair of the RSNA Molecular Imaging Committee.

    Dr. Lee is a distinguished professor of radiology and immediate past-chair of the Department of Radiology at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. He served as first vice-president of RSNA in 2007.

    ACR Chief Executive Officer Announces Retirement

    Harvey L. Neiman, M.D.

    After years of outstanding leadership and service, the American College of Radiology (ACR) chief executive officer (CEO), Harvey L. Neiman, M.D., has announced that he will transition into retirement over the coming year.

    Dr. Neiman has played a vital part in developing many of ACR’s core initiatives including the ACR Education Center, the Radiology Leadership Institute®, the ACR Dose Index Registry®, the Journal of the American College of Radiology, the American Institute for Radiologic Pathology and ACR Informatics. The Harvey L. Neiman Health Policy Institute™, launched in 2012, honors his many efforts.

    Dr. Neiman was awarded the ACR Gold Medal in May and will receive the RSNA Gold Medal in December. He received ACR’s inaugural Radiology Leadership Institute’s Leadership Luminary Award in 2012.

    ACR has launched a search to recruit Dr. Neiman’s successor. Candidates can submit an electronic copy of their CV and a cover letter to Stephanie Tomasso, Russell Reynolds Associates, at acr@russellreynolds.com.

    RSNA 2013 Lectures, Honorees Updated

    Paul M. Harari, M.D.

    The RSNA Board of Directors has announced that Paul M. Harari, M.D., will deliver the Annual Oration in Radiation Oncology. The oration will be dedicated to the memory of K. Kian Ang, M.D., Ph.D., who had been announced previously as the oration presenter. Dr. Ang passed away in June. (Read "In Memoriam," here).

    Royal Awarded SPR Gold Medal

    Stuart A. Royal, M.D.

    Stuart A. Royal, M.D., was awarded the Society for Pediatric Radiology (SPR) Gold Medal at its recent annual meeting in San Antonio. Dr. Royal is radiologist-in-chief at The Children’s Hospital of Alabama. The award is the society’s highest honor.

    Grant Awarded CRS Gold Medal

    Thomas H. Grant, D.O.

    The Chicago Radiological Society (CRS) presented its Distinguished Service Award, or Gold Medal, to Thomas H. Grant, D.O., professor of radiology at Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine, at its recent annual meeting. The award is the Society’s highest honor.

    Dr. Grant was recognized for his outstanding leadership in organized medicine on local, state and national levels and his many years of dedicated service to radiology. He is a past-president of the CRS.

    RSNA Introduces Radiology to Medical Students

    AMA Medical Student Showcase - Merryn Young, Zachary Ballenger, M.D.
    Merryn Young, (left) of RSNA’s Membership Department, joined Zachary Ballenger, M.D., at the recent AMA Medical Student Showcase.

    In mid-June, RSNA participated in the annual American Medical Association (AMA) Medical Student Showcase, with representatives of the Membership Department joining Zachary Ballenger, M.D., chief radiology resident at Indiana University, to promote radiology to medicine’s future practitioners.

    The AMA showcase gives medical students a chance to survey many specialties and opportunities. Dr. Ballenger talked with students interested in radiology and offered them insight as someone who has been in their shoes. Interested students were also welcomed to join RSNA; membership is free for medical students, residents and fellows.

    In Memoriam

    K. Kian Ang, M.D., Ph.D.K. Kian Ang, M.D., Ph.D., a radiation oncology researcher responsible for establishing numerous new cancer treatment regimens, particularly for head and neck cancer, died June 19, 2013. He was 63.

    Dr. Ang was the Gilbert H. Fletcher Distinguished Memorial Chair and a professor in the Department of Radiation Oncology at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston.

    Dr. Ang’s research focused on developing novel therapy strategies through various in vitro and xenograft models and using specimens collected from patients enrolled into prospective phase II-III trials. His latest studies included the role of inhibitors of the epidermal growth factor receptor or other signaling pathways in selective enhancement of tumor radiation response in preclinical models. As chair of the Head and Neck Committee of the Radiation Therapy Oncology Group between 1999 and 2012, Dr. Ang introduced several new regimens—such as radiation plus chemotherapy or Cetuximab, resulting from laboratory studies into clinical trials—which established several standard treatments.

    Dr. Ang was to deliver the Annual Oration in Radiation Oncology at RSNA 2013. The lecture will now be dedicated to his memory.

    comments powered by Disqus