Warning! OUTDATED BROWSER DETECTED!   Please update your browser immediately for a better experience on this website. Learn More
  • 2017 Honorees

    November 1, 2017

    RSNA will pay tribute to a number of distinguished physicians during the 103rd Scientific Assembly and Annual Meeting. All presentations will take place in the Arie Crown Theater.

    Outstanding Researcher and Educator

    Presented Sunday, Nov. 26 • 8:30 a.m.

    RSNA will honor two individuals at RSNA 2017 for their contributions to research and education. They are Mitchell D. Schnall, MD, PhD, and Dorothy Bulas, MD.

    Outstanding Researcher
    Mitchell D. Schnall, MD, PhD


    An international leader in translational biomedical imaging research, Mitchell D. Schnall, MD, PhD, bridges the interface between basic imaging science and clinical medicine. His work on MRI methodology has led to fundamental changes in the imaging approaches to breast and prostate cancer. His work has significantly influenced emerging technologies such as optical imaging. Read more »

    Outstanding Researcher
    Dorothy Bulas, MD


    Throughout her career, Dorothy Bulas, MD, has focused on education and international outreach. She is a professor of pediatrics and radiology at the George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences, and serves as vice chief of academic affairs, program director of pediatric radiology and section head of ultrasound and fetal imaging at Children’s National Medical Center in Washington, DC. Read more » 

    Honorary Members

    Presented Monday, Nov. 27 • 1:30 p.m.

    Honorary Membership in RSNA is presented for significant achievement in the field of radiology. At RSNA 2017, Honorary Membership will be given to Hassen A. Gharbi, MD, PhD, Renato Adam Mendonça, MD, PhD, and Katrine Riklund, MD, PhD.

    Hassen A. Gharbi, MD, PhD


    Dr. Gharbi earned his medical degree in 1967 from the Université Paris Medical School, where he subsequently received degrees in radiology, aeronautic medicine and medical electronics. He received a post-doctoral degree in optic physiology from the Faculty of Science at the Orsay campus of the Université Paris and a degree in management of radiation accidents from Oak Ridge Associated Universities, Oak Ridge, TN. Read more » 

    Renato Adam Mendonça, MD, PhD


    Renowned leader in radiology education Renato Adam Mendonça, MD, PhD, is the chief of the Department of Neuroradiology at Delboni Auriemo, São Paulo.   Read more »

    Katrine Riklund, MD, PhD


    A respected leader in diagnostic radiology and nuclear medicine, Katrine Riklund, MD, PhD, has devoted her career to collaboration between the two disciplines, laying the groundwork for the dramatic growth of hybrid imaging. As the founding president of the European Society of Hybrid Medical Imaging (ESHI), Dr. Riklund is working to provide better education and training in hybrid imaging for both specialties. Read more »

    Gold Medalists

    RSNA will award four individuals its Gold Medal — RSNA’s highest honor — at the 103rd Scientific Assembly and Annual Meeting. They are George S. Bisset III, MD, J. William Charboneau, MD, and Roderic I. Pettigrew, PhD, MD. A posthumous Gold Medal will also be awarded during the Opening Session to Richard L. Baron, MD.

    Presented Sunday, Nov. 26 • 8:30 a.m.

    Richard L. Baron, MD (posthumous)


    Widely respected as a masterful diagnostic radiologist, educator, author and researcher, Richard L. Baron, MD, generously shared his knowledge and insight with colleagues around the world.  Read more »

    Presented Tuesday, Nov. 28 • 1:30 p.m.

    George S. Bisset III, MD


    In a career spanning four decades, George S. Bisset, III, MD, has earned a reputation as a preeminent authority on pediatric imaging and a world-class educator who has helped shape the next generation of radiologists. Read more »

    William Charboneau, MD


    An ambitious educator and internationally recognized scientist, J. William Charboneau, MD, is a leading authority in diagnostic ultrasound and image-guided ablation of cancer of the liver, kidney and bone. Read more »

    Roderic I. Pettigrew, PhD, MD


    Founding director of the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB), Roderic I. Pettigrew, PhD, MD, is an innovative leader in convergence research who is helping lay the groundwork for tomorrow’s medicine. Read more »

    2017 Honored Educator Award

    RSNA congratulates the 2017 Honored Educator award recipients for their dedication to furthering educational scholarship in the field of radiology. Award recipients will be recognized at the 2017 RSNA Annual Meeting.

    This year’s recipients: 
    Suhny Abbara, MD
    Richard Barr, MD, PhD
    Tara Barwick, MBChB
    Spencer Behr, MD
    Sanjeev Bhalla, MD
    Brian Bresnahan, PhD
    Margaret Chapman, MD
    Khaled Elsayes, MD
    Catherine Giess, MD
    Kate Hanneman, MD, FRCPC
    Amy Hara, MD
    Jon Jacobson, MD, MPH
    Jeffrey Jarvik, MD
    Geoffrey Johnson, MD, PhD
    Venkata Katabathina, MD
    Tatiana Kelil, MD
    Ania Kielar, MD
    Kazuto Kozaka, MD
    Rajesh Krishnamurthy, MD
    Elizabeth Krupinski, PhD
    Santiago Martinez-Jimenez, MD
    Mahan Mathur, MD
    Osamu Matsui, MD
    Christine Menias, MD
    Frank Miller, MD
    Yoav Morag, MD
    Paul Nikolaidis, MD
    Daniel Ocazionez, MD
    Aytekin Oto, MD
    Srinivasa Prasad, MD
    Andrei Purysko, MD
    Nikhil Ramaiya, MD
    James Rawson, MD
    Caroline Reinhold, MD, MSc
    Carlos Restrepo, MD
    Margarita Revzin, MD
    Andrea Rockall, MRCP, FRCR
    Sachin Saboo, FRCR
    Dushyant Sahani, MD
    Evis Sala, MD, PhD
    Akram Shaaban, MD, MBBCh
    Atul Shinagare, MD
    Aaron Sodickson, MD, PhD
    Jorge Soto, MD
    Oleg Teytelboym, MD
    Carlos Torres, MD, FRCPC
    Daniel Vargas, MD
    Sudhakar Venkatesh, MD, FRCR
    Michael Wells, MD
    Antonio Westphalen, MD
    Jeremy Wortman, MD
    Corrie Yablon, MD
    Vahid Yaghmai, MD
    Pouya Ziai, MD

    Trainee Research Prize, Neuroradiology Research Award

    RSNA awards the Trainee Research Prize to honor an outstanding scientific presentation in each subspecialty presented by a resident/physics trainee, fellow or medical student. One trainee research prize in breast imaging is endowed by Tapan K. Chaudhuri, MD. A list of Trainee Research Prize recipients can be viewed in the Learning Center.

    Funded with a donation from Kuo York Chynn, MD, the Kuo York Chynn Neuroradiology Research Award is presented annually to the top neuroradiology research paper presented at the RSNA annual meeting.

    Travel Award

    The Travel Awards for young investigators support candidates invited to present high-quality science. Scientific abstracts from current RSNA members who are presently enrolled in a full-time undergraduate or graduate program; clinical trainees who are currently enrolled in a full-time clinical training program; or postdoctoral trainees who were awarded a doctorate or equivalent degree no more than three years ago, were eligible for the award. A list of the Travel Award recipients can be viewed in the Learning Center.

    Alexander R. Margulis Award for Scientific Excellence

    The annual award recognizing the best original scientific articles published in Radiology is named for Alexander R. Margulis, MD, a distinguished investigator and inspiring visionary in the science of radiology. The honoree will be revealed at the beginning of the Monday Plenary Session. After the award is presented, reprints of the honored article will be available for free at the Membership & Resources Booth in the Connections Center at RSNA 2017.