Warning! OUTDATED BROWSER DETECTED!   Please update your browser immediately for a better experience on this website. Learn More

  • June 1, 2017

    Plenary Speakers Announced for RSNA 2017

    The RSNA Board of Directors has announced the plenary speakers who will present at the 103rd Scientific Assembly and Annual Meeting.

    President’s Address
    Richard L. Ehman, MD
    Nov. 26 at 8:30 a.m.
    “Is it Time to Reinvent Radiology?”

    Opening Session
    Roderic I. Pettigrew, MD, PhD
    Nov. 26 at 8:30 a.m.
    “Tomorrow’s Radiology”
    Opening Session
    Elias A. Zerhouni, MD
    Nov. 26 at 8:30 a.m.
    “Imaging Innovation in 21st Century Biomedicine: Challenges and Opportunities”

    New Horizons Lecture
    Daniel Sodickson, MD, PhD
    Nov. 27 at 1:30 p.m.
    “A New Light: The Birth, and Rebirth, of Imaging”

    RSNA/AAPM Symposium
    Keith J. Dreyer, DO, PhD
    Nov. 28 at 10:30 a.m.
    “Harnessing Artificial Intelligence”

    RSNA/AAPM Symposium
    Antonio Criminisi, PhD
    Nov. 28 at 10:30 a.m.
    “Assistive AI for Cancer Treatment”

    Annual Oration in Diagnostic Radiology
    Jonathan B. Kruskal, MD, PhD
    Nov. 28 at 1:30 p.m.
    “Strategies for Radiology to Thrive in the Value Era”

    Annual Oration in Radiation Oncology
    Daphne A. Haas-Kogan, MD
    Nov. 29 at 1:30 p.m.
    “Personalized Medicine andRadiation Oncology”

    Plenary Lecture
    Robert Herjavec
    Co-Host of Shark Tank
    Nov. 30 at 2 p.m.
    “Fast Forward and Focused”

    ASNR Announces 2017 Awards for Zimmerman, Parizel

    The American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR) presented awards in April during its annual meeting in Long Beach, CA.



    Robert D. Zimmerman, MD, received the society’s gold medal. He is a professor of radiology and has served as residency director and/or vice chair for education at Weill Cornell Medical College in New York City for over 15 years. Dr. Zimmerman serves on the RSNA Public Information Advisors Network and has reviewed manuscripts for RadioGraphics. He served as ASNR president in 2008.



    Paul M. Parizel, MD, PhD, chairman of radiology at the University of Antwerp in Belgium, received the 2017 Honorary Member Award. Dr. Parizel has served as faculty at the RSNA annual meeting and is the current chair of the Board of Directors of the European Society of Radiology.


    Vedantham is SIR President

    Suresh Vedantham, MD, assumed the office of president of the Society of Interventional Radiology (SIR) during the society’s Annual Scientific Meeting in Washington, D.C., in March.


    Dr. Vedantham is an interventional radiologist and professor of radiology and surgery at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology, Washington University in St. Louis.

    Other incoming officers of SIR’s 2017–18 Executive Council include President-elect M. Victoria Marx, MD, Los Angeles; Secretary Laura Findeiss, MD, Knoxville, TN; Treasurer Matthew S. Johnson, MD, Indianapolis; and Immediate Past President Charles E. Ray Jr., MD, PhD, Chicago.

    ARRT Announces New Pathway to RRA Credential

    The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) has expanded its eligibility requirements to establish a temporary pathway for Radiology Practitioner Assistants (RPA) who want to earn ARRT’s Registered Radiologist Assistant (RRA) credential.

    The RPA eligibility pathway to RRA certification and registration is available to those who have earned and currently hold certification through the Certification Board for Radiology Practitioner Assistants. Candidates have until Dec. 31, 2020, to complete the requirements, including passing the ARRT examination. For complete requirements and to apply, visit ARRT.org.

    Numbers in the News

    70 Number — in millions — of federal dollars allocated to the National Cancer Institute under the federal Precision Medicine Initiative. Read more »

    10 - 20 The percentage of time a subspecialist second-opinion read will result in actionable change, according to new research. Read more »

    11,000 Number of international visitors who attended RSNA 2016. See more »

    In Memoriam

    University of North Carolina Mourning Two Esteemed Radiologists

    swensonRobert McLelland II, MD
    swensonJames H. Scatliff, MD

    Robert McLelland II, MD

    An expert in breast imaging, Robert McLelland II, MD, died March 3 in Durham, NC. He was 95.

    A native of Toronto, Ontario, Dr. McLelland was inspired to pursue medicine by a beloved professor he met when he joined the Navy V-12 program in 1942 and was sent to the Illinois Institute of Technology. After serving two years of active duty during the Korean War, he earned his medical degree at the University of Cincinnati School of Medicine and completed a residency and fellowship at Philadelphia General Hospital.

    After several years in private practice in Virginia, Dr. McLelland joined the faculty in the Department of Radiology at the Duke University School of Medicine, Durham, NC, in 1968. He served as principal investigator of the Breast Cancer Detection Demonstration Project sponsored by the National Cancer Institute and the American Cancer Society. He developed and directed the first radiology postgraduate education programs offered in Virginia and North Carolina.

    Dr. McLelland joined the faculty of the School of Medicine at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1981 where he remained until his retirement in 2005. He was a Fellow Emeritus of the American College of Radiology and Society of Breast Imaging. Dr. McLelland served as an examiner for the American Board of Radiology. An RSNA member since 1956, Dr. McLelland also served on the RSNA Refresher Course Committee.

    James H. Scatliff, MD

    Renowned educator James H. Scatliff, MD, died March 4 in Chapel Hill, NC. He was 89.

    Dr. Scatliff was the chairman emeritus of the Department of Radiology at the University of North Carolina (UNC) School of Medicine, Chapel Hill. He became the chair of the Department of Radiology at UNC-Chapel Hill in 1966 where he continued to teach until his death.

    Over the span of his 65-year career, Dr. Scatliff made significant contributions to expanding the field of radiology as a researcher, mentor and teacher. A past president of the Association of University Radiologists (AUR), Dr. Scatliff received the AUR gold medal in 1998.

    Born in Evanston, IL, Dr. Scatliff served in the U.S. Army as a medical corpsman in Korea before graduating in 1952 from Northwestern University Medical School, Chicago. After completing his internship and radiology residency at Michael Reese Hospital in Chicago, he accepted a fellowship in neuroradiology at St. George’s Hospital in London.

    Dr. Scatliff spent the first 10 years of his career as an academic radiologist at Yale University Medical Center before moving to UNC. In 1992, UNC honored his achievement by establishing the Scatliff MRI Center. Dr. Scatliff was further honored with three UNC Professor of the Year awards, the UNC Distinguished Faculty Award and the Hyman L. Battle Distinguished Excellence in Teaching Award. Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine recognized his accomplishments with the Distinguished Alumnus Award.