Warning! OUTDATED BROWSER DETECTED!   Please update your browser immediately for a better experience on this website. Learn More
  • First Impression

    February 1, 2018

    Roentgen Nominations Open

    Nominations are now being accepted for the RSNA Roentgen Resident/Fellow Research Award, recognizing residents and fellows who have made significant contributions to their departments’ research efforts as evidenced by presentations and publications of
    scientific papers, receipt of research grants or other contributions.

    Nominations are limited to one resident or fellow per program in radiology, radiation oncology or nuclear medicine per year. The program director or department chair selects the nominee for each program.

    The RSNA Research & Education (R&E) Foundation provides an award plaque for the department to display and a personalized award to present to the selected resident or fellow. The deadline for nominations is April 2. Learn about the nomination process and see a list of past recipients at RSNA.org/Roentgen_Research_Award.aspx.

    Corp Logo

    RSNA values its industry partners that help keep radiology at the forefront of science and technology. Thank you to all our Corporate Partners.

    Gold Corporate Partners
    Canon Medical Systems
    Change Healthcare
    Hitachi Healthcare Americas
    Siemens Healthineers

    Hess Named Radiology Chair at UCSF

    Hess  Hess

    Christopher Hess, MD, PhD, was recently appointed chair of the Department of Radiology and Biomedical Engineering at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF).

    A respected imaging expert in neurodegenerative disorders, epilepsy and vascular disease, Dr. Hess previously served as a professor of radiology and neurology and chief of neuroradiology at UCSF.

    Dr. Hess is the RSNA Refresher Course Committee track chair for neuroradiology and a deputy editor of Radiology. He is a member of RSNA's Health Services Policy & Research Subcommittee and the Public Information Advisors Network. He also holds leadership roles with the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine and the American Society for Neuroradiology and is on the editorial board of the American Journal of Neuroradiology.

    Former RSNA President Ronald L. Arenson, MD, retired from the UCSF position in the fall of 2017.

    RSNA Molecular Imaging Roundtable

    Thirteen representatives from various subspecialty societies and the National Cancer Institute (NCI) met at the Molecular Imaging (MI) Roundtable, held in November during RSNA 2017. The group discussed the increasing role of MI within the Precision Medicine Initiative and the swift advances in contrast agents, radiotracers and instrumentation that are driving MI technology forward. The group is particularly interested in identifying pathways to mainstream MI into clinical practice and introducing cutting-edge MI into residency/fellowship education and to the next generation of radiologists. Several of the participants are collaborating on an online education portal to provide MI content useful to both clinicians and researchers.

    Of special note was the Cancer Imaging Program (CIP/NCI) Investigational New Drug (IND) Directory, a centralized resource to facilitate the sharing of imaging agent IND information. The CIP IND Directory (http://bit.ly/2jquQlT) includes both unpublished and published INDs. Readers are invited to submit INDs to this directory by using the online form, or contacting CIPINDDirectory@mail.nih.gov.

    Pettigrew Named CEO of New EnHealth Program at Texas A&M

    Pettigrew  Pettigrew

    Founding director of the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB), Roderic I. Pettigrew, PhD, MD, has joined Texas A&M, in College Station, TX, to lead Engineering Health (EnHealth), the nation’s first comprehensive educational program to fully integrate engineering into all health-related disciplines.

    An innovative leader in biomedical imaging and bioengineering, Dr. Pettigrew is CEO of EnHealth and Executive Dean for EnMed, the university’s engineering medicine track in partnership with Houston Methodist Hospital. Along with the appointment, Dr. Pettigrew is also the endowed Robert A. Welch Chair in Chemistry at Texas A&M.

    Dr. Pettigrew delivered an Opening Plenary lecture and was awarded an RSNA Gold Medal in 2017, and he presented the RSNA 75th Anniversary Diamond Jubilee New Horizons Lecture. He is an elected member of the U.S. National Academy of Medicine and the National Academy of Engineering, and an elected foreign fellow of the National Academy of Science, India.


    Apply Now for RSNA Editorial Fellowships

    Applications are being accepted for the RSNA William R. Eyler Editorial Fellowship and the RSNA William W. Olmsted Editorial Fellowship for Trainees.

    Both fellowships offer the opportunity to work with Radiology Editor David A. Bleumke, MD, PhD, in Madison, WI, and RadioGraphics Editor Jeffrey S. Klein, MD, in Burlington, VT. The Eyler fellowship lasts three weeks and the Olmsted fellowship lasts one week.

    Each fellow will also visit the Publications Department at RSNA Headquarters in Oak Brook, IL. The Eyler Fellow will work with the RadioGraphics editorial team at RSNA 2018.

    Apply by May 1 to be considered for the William R. Eyler Editorial Fellowship and April 1 for the William W. Olmsted Editorial Fellowship for Trainees.

    To learn more and to apply, visit RSNA.org/RSNA_Editorial_Fellowships.aspx.


    Orrison  Orrison Jr.

    In Memoriam

    William W. Orrison Jr., MD

    A pioneer of research in magnetoencephalography, William W. Orrison Jr., MD, died on Oct. 19, 2017, at age 68. He was retired from the University of Utah School of Medicine, Salt Lake City, where he served as professor and chairman of radiology.

    Dr. Orrison’s years in medical school at the University of Kansas School of Medicine, Kansas City, were interrupted by his service in the U.S. Air Force. After graduating and completing his double residency in neurology and radiology at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, Dr. Orrison completed fellowships in neuroradiology at Ulleval Hospital, Oslo, Norway, and the University of Wisconsin. He was chief of neuroradiology and later chair of radiology at Keesler Air Force Base, Biloxi, MS, attaining the rank of major. Following his time in the service, Dr. Orrison entered academic medicine at the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, where he led the medical school's efforts in uroradiology, special procedures, non-invasive diagnosis and MRI.

    Dr. Orrison authored the well-respected textbook Neuroimaging, and wrote four additional textbooks on medical imaging. He was a frequent author and contributor to numerous textbooks and papers and held 11 patents.

    He served as a member of the RSNA Membership Committee and as a Radiology manuscript reviewer.

    Numbers in the News

    50 Percentage of radiologists estimated to be suffering from burnout. Read more about solutions for battling stress and burnout here.

    600 Approximate number of courses in the new RSNA Online Learning Center. Read more here.

    Vinay Prabhu, MD, right, receives his 2017 Roentgen Resident/Fellow Research Award from Nancy Fefferman, MD.