Rising Star Award

RSNA is dedicated to honoring the accomplishments of radiologists with the inaugural Rising Star Award. New in 2024, this education-focused award seeks to acknowledge and highlight the outstanding contributions and innovative work of the leaders who are shaping the future of radiologic education.

Award eligibility and criteria

Help us celebrate exceptional leadership by nominating yourself for the Rising Star Award. RSNA will honor a maximum of 12 radiologists (nine domestic and three international) who have up to 10 years of post-residency experience, are employed by an academic institution with a teaching hospital, or operate as part of a broader medical institution.

Awardees must be RSNA members.

Radiologists who demonstrate sustained commitment and achievement in at least two of the following four areas will be considered:

Education leadership: Demonstrates leadership through faculty development, curriculum development, education course development, service on education committee focused on radiology education for RSNA or external organizations

Community outreach: Demonstrates significant impact on community education programs, has volunteer experience with medical missions or health-screening programs

Radiology education and volunteer activities: Participates as a speaker, peer reviewer or committee member for RSNA or external organizations

Innovation in radiology education: Has developed a new product that educates radiologists (e.g., original podcast series, new teaching method, educational platform)


In an effort to support career development, Rising Star awardees will receive:
  • Sponsorship from RSNA staff
    • Guidance on how to grow as an RSNA leader via speaking engagements and volunteer opportunities
  • Best practices for delivering presentations and serving as a volunteer
  • Their name added to the RSNA Speaker Engagement Database
    • Provides opportunities for consideration as faculty for RSNA education activities
  • Invitations to networking opportunities

The 2024 nomination cycle is closed. We'll update this page with information in 2025 once it becomes available.