• Introduction to Research for International Young Academics

    • The focus of this program is to encourage young radiologists from countries outside North America to pursue careers in academic radiology. The program consists of a special seminar that is held during the RSNA Scientific Assembly and Annual Meeting.

      The Committee on Radiology Education recommends fifteen international young academics for consideration by the RSNA Board, each year. Complimentary registration, shared hotel accommodation for the duration of the program, and a stipend to help defray travel expenses are awarded to successful candidates.

      Eligible candidates are residents and fellows currently in radiology training programs, or radiologists not more than two years out of training, who are beginning or considering an academic career. Nominations must be made by the candidate's department chairperson or training director. Fluency in English is required.

      The application deadline for the 2014 program is April 15, 2014.  

      Download Nomination Form  


      2012 Introduction to Research for International Young Academics (IRIYA) and Introduction to Academic Radiology (ITAR) program participants collaborate during a joint session. 

      Introduction to Research for International Young Academics Program History

      Year   Participant's Country of Origin  
      Year  Participant's Country of Origin  
      2013 India, Chile, The Netherlands, Ireland, Mexico, Belgium, South Africa, United Kingdom, Germany, Brazil, Republic of Korea, Trinidad and Tobago, Romania, Malaysia, Portugal
      Brazil, Canada/India, Croatia, Ethiopia, India, Ireland, Italy, Macedonia, Mexico, New Zealand, Romania, South Africa, Venezuela
      2012 Australia, Brazil, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, Mexico, Netherlands, Russian Federation, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom
      2005 Albania, Argentina, Belgium, Chile, Columbia, Ivory Coast, France, Georgia, Japan, Macedonia, Mexico, Nepal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Taiwan
      2011 Argentina, Belgium, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Nigeria, South Africa, Spain, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom
      2004 Argentina, Brazil, Columbia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, India, Japan, Latvia, Mexico, Romania, South Korea
      2010 Croatia, Germany, India, Italy, Korea, Lithuania, Mexico, Romania, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand
      2003 Belgium, Brazil, Croatia, India, Japan, Korea, Lithuania, New Zealand, Nigeria, South Africa, the Netherlands, Tunisia, Ukraine
      2009 Australia, Austria, Brazil, Columbia, India, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Nepal/Japan, Nigeria, South Africa, the Netherlands, United Kingdom
      2002 Austria, Chile, China, Georgia, Germany, India, Japan, Malaysia, Mongolia, Norway, Singapore, Taiwan, Turkey, Ukraine
      2008 Argentina, Brazil, Germany, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan/Bangladesh, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Romania, Switzerland, United Kingdom
      2001 Belarus, Czech Republic, Egypt, Germany, Hungary, Japan, Latvia, Malaysia, Nepal, Peru, Philippines, Romania, United Kingdom
      2007 Argentina, Brazil, El Salvador, Germany, India, Israel, Japan, Latvia, Mexico, South Korea, the Netherlands, United Kingdom
      Belarus, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, Greece, Japan, Philippines, Romania, Turkey, United Kingdom