Outstanding Researchers Award

Every year, we select one person who has made significant contributions to radiologic research over the last 15 years. The Outstanding Researcher Award is meant to honor that pioneer who has fundamentally changed the future of our field.
Dr. Schnall
Mitchell D. Schnall, MD, PhD

2017 recipient: Mitchell D. Schnall, MD, PhD

A leader in translational biomedical imaging research, Dr. Schnall bridges the interface between basic imaging and clinical medicine. His work on MR imaging methodology has led to fundamental changes in imaging approaches for breast and prostate cancer, and has significantly influenced emerging technologies, including optical imaging. 

Dr. Schnall is the Eugene P. Pendergrass Professor of Radiology and the chair of the department of radiology at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, where he's been a faculty member since 1991. He also earned his undergraduate, medical and doctorate degrees and completed his residency there.

Since receiving a GE Healthcare/RSNA Research Scholar Grant to investigate MR imaging of rectal cancer in 1992, Dr. Schnall has been an investigator on numerous research teams. Over his career, he's secured $130 million in funding and published over 350 studies.

Dr. Schnall has also led efforts to organize clinical and translational cancer imaging research in the U.S. He became chair of the American College of Radiology Imaging Network (ACRIN) in 2008. Among the groundbreaking trials under his leadership was the National Lung Cancer Screening trial, which demonstrated the ability of low-dose lung cancer screening to reduce mortality by 20% in high-risk patients. Dr. Schnall was one of the architects of the merger of the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) and ACRIN to form the ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group and has been the group's co-chair since 2012.

Among his many honors, Dr. Schnall was inducted to the Institute of Medicine in 2012 and awarded a gold medal from the International Society for Magnetic Resonance Imaging in 2013.

Dr. Schnall is a frequent guest lecturer around the world and currently serves as a member of the RSNA R&E Foundation board of trustees as well as chair of the research commission of the American College of Radiology.

Past recipients

2016: Clifford R. Jack Jr, MD
2015: G. Scott Gazelle, MD, PhD
2014: Theodore S. Lawrence, MD, PhD
2013: Norbert J. Pelc, ScD  
2012: A. James Barkovich, MD
2011: Bruce R. Rosen, MD
2010: Charles A. Mistretta, PhD 
2009: Sanjiv Sam Gambhir, MD, PhD  
2008: Ralph Weissleder, MD, PhD
2007: Bruce J. Hillman, MD
2006: Richard L. Ehman, MD
2005: Dixon M. Moody, MD
2004: Steven M. Larson, MD
2003: Robert C. Brasch, MD
2002: Ferenc A. Jolesz, MD
2001: Gary H. Glover, PhD
2000: Charles B. Higgins, MD
1999: Kurt Amplatz, MD
1998: Barry B. Goldberg, MD
1997: Elliot C. Lasser, MD
1996: Eric J. Hall, DSc
1996: David E. Kuhl, MD