Olmsted Fellowship


The William W. Olmsted Editorial Fellowship for Trainees is for residents and fellows in training interested in scholarly publication and editorial processes at medical journal offices.

As an Olmsted fellow, you'll learn about manuscript preparation and editing, peer review, journal production, printing and digital publishing. At the end of the fellowship, you'll complete a program evaluation and prepare a follow-up report on your experiences during and after the fellowship.

Fellowship details

The fellowship lasts for approximately one week. During this time, the Olmsted fellow will:

  • Spend two days working with the editor of Radiology in Madison, Wisconsin
  • Visit Burlington, Vermont, to work with the editor of RadioGraphics for one day
  • Meet the RSNA publications department in Oak Brook, Illinois, and learn about the production process
  • Assist the editors and attend editorial meetings during the RSNA annual meeting in Chicago



To be eligible for the Olmsted Fellowship, you must:

  • Be an RSNA member
  • Still be in training (resident, fellow)
  • Have a record of publications in scientific and/or educational peer-reviewed journals

Each department or institution should nominate only a single candidate for the fellowship in any given year. Interested individuals should coordinate their application with their department’s administration. 


One fellow is selected each year and is awarded a stipend of $3,000 to cover travel, lodging and expenses.



The application deadline has passed. The next application process begins in January 2021. For additional questions, please email editfellowships@rsna.org.

2019 Olmsted Fellow

Matthew D. Alvin, MD, is the 2019 RSNA William W. Olmsted Trainee Editorial Fellow. Dr. Alvin is a fourth-year resident and head of resident research at The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore. He earned his medical degree from Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, Cleveland.

Dr. Alvin is a reviewer for the Journal of the American College of Radiology, Academic Radiology, American Journal of Roentgenology and the American Journal of Neuroradiology. He has published more than 50 peer-reviewed manuscripts and chapters.

Past fellows

2018 Elizabeth George, MD 2011 Tara Ann Morgan, MD
2017 David Ballard, MD 2010 Amy M. Fowler, MD, PhD
2016 Karen Buch, MD 2009 Samantha Lynn Heller, PhD, MD
2015 Manisha Bahl, MD 2008 Dino P. Massoglia, MD, PhD
2014 Andrew Degnan, MD 2007 Christopher Whitlow, MD, PhD
2013 Sina Tavakoli, MD 2006 Anu Bansal, MD
2012 Mai-Lan Ho, MD 2005 Joseph P. Erinjeri, MD, PhD