Eyler Fellowship


The William R. Eyler Editorial Fellowship provides an opportunity for mid-career radiologists to further their experience in radiologic journalism by working with RSNA journal editors and publications staff.

As an Eyler fellow, you’ll learn about manuscript preparation and editing, peer review, journal production, printing and digital publishing. At the end of the fellowship, you'll complete a program evaluation and prepare a follow-up report on your experiences during and after the fellowship.

Fellowship details

The fellowship lasts for approximately one month. During this time, the Eyler fellow will:

  • Travel to Madison, Wisconsin, to work with the editor of Radiology
  • Visit Burlington, Vermont, to work with the editor of RadioGraphics
  • Tour the RSNA publications department in Oak Brook, Illinois, and learn about the production process
  • Assist the editors and attend editorial meetings during the RSNA annual meeting in Chicago


To be eligible for the Eyler Fellowship, you must:

  • Be an RSNA member
  • Have accomplished at least three years of attending-level work at an academic institution
  • Have served as a reviewer for a major imaging journal
  • Be affiliated with a national radiologic society in your country


One Eyler fellow is selected each year and is awarded a stipend of $10,000 to cover the cost of transportation, lodging and meals during the fellowship.


Application submissions are open January 1. The application deadline is May 1. To learn more, please email editfellowships@rsna.org.

Apply now

Past winners

2018 Eyler fellow

Dr. Kathryn J. Fowler is an associate professor in radiology at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, Missouri. She earned her medical degree from the University of Wisconsin Medical School in Madison, Wisconsin and completed her residency and clinical fellowship in body MR imaging/abdominal imaging from the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology.

Dr. Fowler is an active reviewer at several journals including Radiology, RadioGraphics, Cardiovascular and Interventional Radiology, American Journal of Roentgenology, European Journal of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging and Abdominal Radiology.

2017 Andrew Rosenkrantz, MD 2005 Deborah Levine, MD
2016 Meike Willemijn Vernooij, MD, PhD 2004 Harris L. Cohen, MD, FACR
2015 Rajesh Krishnamurthy, MD 2003 Giuseppe Guglielmi, MD
2014 Matthew D.F. McInnes, MD 2002 Christoforos Stoupis, MD
2013 Mindy M. Horrow, MD 2001 Theodore T. Miller, MD
2012 Birgit Ertl-Wagner, MD 2000 Kimberly Applegate, MD, MS
2011 John A. Carrino, MD, MPH 2000 Stephan Grampp, MD, PhD
2010 Edward Y. Lee, MD, MPH 1999 Douglas S. Katz, MD
2009 José M. García Santos, MD 1999 Hans-Joachim Wagner, MD, PhD
2008 Andrew R. Forauer, MD 1998 Donald P. Frush, MD
2007 Johannes T. Heverhagen, MD, PhD 1998 Wilfred C. G. Peh, MD, FRCP, FRCR
2006 Jacob Sosna, MD