Annual business meeting minutes

December 1 & 3, 2019

The annual business meeting of the Radiological Society of North America was convened at RSNA 2019 at McCormick Place in Chicago, Illinois. Two sessions were held. The first was held on Sunday, December 1, at 10:15 am; the second session was held on Tuesday, December 3, at 10:00 am. Valerie P. Jackson, MD, president of the Society, presided throughout the sessions. James P. Borgstede, MD, president-elect and secretary-treasurer, served as parliamentarian.

Minutes of the business meeting held at RSNA 2018 (sessions on Sunday, November 25, and Tuesday, November 27), which were published on, were approved.

The secretary-treasurer reported on registration figures for the meeting. As of Saturday, November 30, 2019, a total of 45,717 individuals pre-registered for physical attendance at the 105th Scientific Assembly and Annual Meeting. This total includes 22,039 professionals.

Reports were accepted from the officers. These reports can be found on 


Awards:  The president announced to the membership, and for the official record, that Honorary Memberships were awarded to Tarek El-Diasty, MD, Mansoura, Egypt; Fiona J. Gilbert, MD, Cambridge, United Kingdom; and Bernd K. Hamm III, MD, Berlin, Germany. The president also announced that Gold Medals, the highest honor of the Society, were presented to D. David Dershaw, MD, New York, New York; N. Reed Dunnick, MD, Ann Arbor, Michigan; and J. Anthony Seibert, PhD, Sacramento, California.

Election:  The Committee on Nominations consisted of N. Reed Dunnick, Ann Arbor, Michigan and Vijay M. Rao, MD, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, members; and James P. Borgstede, MD, Colorado Springs, Colorado, Chair. Dr. Borgstede presented the committee’s slate of nominees for election.

Elected were: President-Elect/Secretary-Treasurer Mary C. Mahoney, MD, Cincinnati, Ohio, and Board Member to serve a six-year term, Carolyn C. Meltzer, MD, Atlanta, Georgia.

There was no new business presented and no unfinished business.


Mary C. Mahoney, MD