Annual business meeting minutes

December 1, 2020

The annual business meeting of the Radiological Society of North America was convened virtually on Tuesday, December 1, at 10:00 am, during the virtual RSNA 2020 annual meeting. James P. Borgstede, MD, president of the Society, presided throughout the session. Mary C. Mahoney, MD, president-elect and secretary-treasurer, served as parliamentarian.

Minutes of the business meeting held at RSNA 2019 (sessions on Sunday, December 1, and Tuesday, December 3), which were published on, were approved.

The secretary-treasurer reported on registration figures for the meeting. As of Sunday, November 29, 2020, a total of 26,318 individuals pre-registered to attend the 106th Scientific Assembly and Annual Meeting, which was conducted as virtual only. This total includes 22,796 professionals.

Reports were accepted from the officers. These reports can be found on  

Awards:  The president announced to the membership, and for the official record, that 
Honorary Memberships were awarded to Omolola Mojisola Atalabi, MBBS, Ibadan Oyo, Nigeria; Lorenzo E. Derchi, MD, Genoa, Italy; and Guillermo Elizondo-Riojas, MD, PhD, Monterrey, Mexico. The president also announced that Gold Medals, the highest honor of the Society, were presented to Ronald L. Arenson, MD, Mill Valley, California; William T. Thorwarth, Jr, MD, Reston, Virginia; and Kay H. Vydareny, MD, Atlanta, Georgia.

Election:  The Committee on Nominations consisted of Valerie P. Jackson, MD, Tucson, Arizona, and Burton P. Drayer, MD, New York, New York, members; and Mary C. Mahoney, MD, Cincinnati, Ohio, Chair. Dr. Mahoney presented the committee’s slate of nominees for election.

Elected were: President-Elect/Secretary-Treasurer Bruce G. Haffty, MD, New Brunswick, 
New Jersey, and Board Member to serve a six-year term, Sanjeev Bhalla, MD, St. Louis, Missouri. 

There was no new business presented and no unfinished business. 

Bruce G. Haffty, MD