Warning! OUTDATED BROWSER DETECTED!   Please update your browser immediately for a better experience on this website. Learn More
  • First Impression - July 2017

    July 1, 2017

    RSNA Announces 2017 Gold Medalists

    The RSNA Board of Directors has announced the Gold Medal recipients who will be honored at the 103rd Scientific Assembly and Annual Meeting. They are:

    Bisset George S. Bisset III, MD
    Houston, TX
    CharboneauJ. William Charboneau, MD
    Rochester, MN
    Pettigrew Opt1 Roderic I. Pettigrew, MD, PhD
    Bethesda, MD

    Emergency Radiology Focus of Sixth Annual International Day of Radiology (IDoR)

    Join more than 140 radiology-related professional societies from around the globe on Nov. 8 in celebrating the advances that radiologic innovations have brought to patients worldwide.

    IDoR 2017 is dedicated to emergency radiology and the essential role that radiologists play in the emergency room, increasing the quality of care and treatment of patients.

    IDoR is sponsored by RSNA, the European Society of Radiology and the American College of Radiology, with a dedicated website (IDoR2017.com) and social media activities.

    Visit RSNA.org/IDoR for promotional materials you can customize for your practice or organization.

    CAR Gold Medal Awarded to del Carpio-O'Donovan

    O'Donovan O'Donovan

    The Canadian Association of Radiologists (CAR) awarded its 2017 gold medal to Raquel Z. del Carpio-O'Donovan, MD, in recognition of her outstanding contributions to neuroradiology as a researcher, teacher and mentor. Dr. del Carpio-O'Donovan is a professor of radiology at McGill University Health Centre and chief of the Department of Radiology at the Montreal General Hospital, both in Montreal. She is a past member of the RSNA Public Information Committee and traveled to China as part of the RSNA International Visiting Professor Program in 2008.

    Fayad Receives $13 million from NIH

    Fayad Fayad

    Zahi A. Fayad, PhD, who received a 1998 RSNA Research Seed Grant, is principal investigator on a study that has been awarded $13 million from the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Dr. Fayad aims to uncover the mechanisms by which stress contributes to cardiovascular risk through a five-year research program.

    Dr. Fayad is the Mount Sinai Endowed Chair in Medical Imaging and Bioengineering, professor of radiology and medicine (cardiology), and director of the Translational and Molecular Imaging Institute at the Icahn School of Medicine, New York City.

    ISMRM Honors Griswold, Wehrli and Pettigrew

    Griswold Griswold
    Wehrli Wehrli
    Pettigrew Opt2 Pettigrew

    The International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM) presented awards during its annual meeting in April.

    The society awarded gold medals to Mark A. Griswold, PhD, professor of radiology at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, and Felix W. Wehrli, PhD, professor of radiologic science and director of the Laboratory for Structural NMR Imaging in the Department of Radiology at the University of Pennsylvania Health System, Philadelphia.

    The Distinguished Service Award was presented to Roderic I. Pettigrew, MD, PhD, founding director of the National Institute for Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering. Dr. Pettigrew, a past member of the RSNA Scientific Program and Research Development committees, will present a plenary lecture and receive an RSNA Gold Medal at RSNA 2017.

    Numbers in the News

    100 Number, in millions of dollars, that the augmented reality market is predicted to capture in three years. Read about radiology’s role in this fast-moving technology here.