• International Visiting Professor Program

  • The RSNA has supported international education through its International Visiting Professor Program since 1986. This program, administered by the Committee on International Radiology Education (CIRE), supports small teams of visiting professors to lecture at national or regional radiology meetings of societies in or serving developing nations, as well as at selected local hospitals with radiology residency training programs, in those countries.

    RSNA thanks Agfa Healthcare and Fujifilm Medical Systems for their support of the International Visiting Professor program.

    International Host Country

    National radiology societies in, or that primarily serve, developing countries are invited to apply to host an International Visiting Professor (IVP) team. The IVP team will lecture at the host’s national radiology society meeting. In addition, that society will select and organize visits to local hospitals that have active radiology training programs with the need and potential for educational enrichment from a visiting professor team. Host society applications should describe specific educational needs (e.g., modality or organ-specific interests).

    “[The IVP Program] Improves Radiological Residents training, adds new concepts and techniques to be applied in the short term in daily hospital practice, improves teaching skills of faculty members, helps implement gold standards as to improve quality in daily practices.”

    - Mexican Federation of Radiology and Imaging (FMRI)

    Applications must be completed jointly by the national radiology society and the local hospitals. In addition, hospital applications must specify the names of staff fluent in English, the number of residents in each year of training, and the percentage of those residents who are capable of understanding teaching presentations delivered in English. Educational institutions that are adjuncts of private practices are not eligible for this program.

    The host society is expected to:

    • provide hotel accommodations and meals for the IVP team for the duration of their visit
    • appoint a contact who will be able to communicate program, schedule,and hospitality arrangements with the IVP team members and the RSNA staff contact;
    • complete evaluation forms provided by the RSNA within two weeks of the IVP visit.

    The application deadline for the 2016 program is December 31, 2014.

    IVP Host Society Application Form

    IVP Host Hospital Application Form


    Above, Dr. Jeffrey Peterson reviews cases with residents during a visit to Myanmar

    International Visiting Professors

    All travel (air itineraries must be arranged through RSNA's travel agent), accommodations and associated expenses are covered by either the RSNA or the host society. RSNA Visiting Professors may not receive funding from sources other than the host institution, their own institution, and the RSNA. At the conclusion of the assignment, the visiting professor is expected to complete a questionnaire as well as submit a written report about their program experiences.

    Visiting Professor Application  

    “Having grown up in South Korea, I was able to experience the transformation of a country from a poor and undeveloped nation to a modern, high-tech society. Many of my teachers trained in countries such as Japan, Germany and the U.S., and returned to Korea to help develop the medical profession. I have always felt the need to give back in the same fashion, and going to Nepal was simply a dream come true.”

    - Dr. Young Kim, visiting professor to Nepal in 2012.

    International Visiting Professor Program History

    Year Countries Visited   Year Countries Visited
          2001 Bolivia, Brazil, Ecuador, India, Nicaragua, Uruguay
    2015 Bangladesh, Chile, Nicaragua, Mexico   2000 Ecuador, Ethiopia, Sri Lanka
    2014 Argentina, Brazil, South Africa, Mexico   1999 Brazil, Hungary, Lithuania, Turkey
    2013 Russia, Kenya, Mexico   1998 Ecuador, India
    2012 Nepal, Vietnam, Mexico, El Salvador   1997 Ecuador, India, Syria
    2011 Malaysia, Mexico, Lithuania, Myanmar   1996 Ukraine
    2010 Brazil, Mexico, Philippines, Thailand   1995 Chile, Ecuador, India, Kenya, Malaysia
    2009 Argentina, Bolivia, Estonia, Mexico, South Africa   1994 India, Malaysia, Mexico, Nepal, Thailand, West Indies
    2008 China, Mexico, Nigeria, Vietnam   1993 Chile, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania
    2007 Algeria, Honduras, Mexico, Uganda   1992 Fiji, Kenya, Malaysia
    2006 Chile, India, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico   1991 Kenya, West Indies
    2005 Brazil, Mexico, Sri Lanka, Thailand   1990 India, Malaysia
    2004 Argentina, Mexico, Romania   1989 Pakistan
    2003 El Salvador, Guatemala, South Africa   1988 Jamaica
    2002 Colombia, Fiji, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, Thailand   1987 Kenya