Warning! OUTDATED BROWSER DETECTED!   Please update your browser immediately for a better experience on this website. Learn More
  • About RSNA
  • Annual Business Meeting Minutes

  • Annual Business Meeting
    November 30 & December 2, 2014

    The annual business meeting of the Radiological Society of North America was convened at RSNA 2014 at McCormick Place in Chicago. Two sessions were held. The first was held on Sunday, November 30, at 10:15 am; the second session was held on Tuesday, December 2, at 10:00 am. N. Reed Dunnick, MD, president of the Society, presided throughout the sessions. 

    Ronald L. Arenson, MD, president-elect and secretary-treasurer, served as parliamentarian.

    Minutes of the business meeting held at RSNA 2013 (sessions on Sunday, December 1, and

    Tuesday, December 3), which were published on RSNA.org, were approved.

    The secretary-treasurer reported on registration figures for the meeting. As of Saturday, November 29, 2014, a total of 52,332 individuals pre-registered for the 100th Scientific Assembly and Annual Meeting. This total includes 26,581 professionals.

    Reports were accepted from the officers and committee chairs. These reports can be found on RSNA.org. 

    Bylaws:  Stephen R. Thomas, PhD, chairman of the Committee on Bylaws and Resolutions, advised the membership that the Board of Directors recommended Bylaw amendments to provide that if a vacancy occurs on the Board of Directors and there are three years or more remaining on the term, the member elected at the next Annual Meeting to fill that position will serve only for the remainder of that term. The specific amendments were published in the October 2014 issue of Radiology

    The following changes to the Bylaws were approved by a two-thirds majority vote of the Society members present and voting at the Business Session.  Proposed new text is in bold, and deleted text is struck through.

    4.12 Vacancies.

    (A) A vacancy among the elected members of the Board of Directors will be filled ad interim by the Board appointing an Active member to serve until the conclu­sion of the next Annual Meeting. At the next Annual Meeting a director will be elected by the members of the Society to fill the vacancy for a full six-year.

    (B) If the vacancy occurs with three or more years remaining on the director’s term, the individ­ual elected to fill the vacancy shall serve for the bal­ance of that director’s term.

    (C) If the vacancy occurs with less than three years remaining on the director’s term, the individual elected to fill the vacancy shall serve for a term of five years beginning with the conclusion of that Annual Meeting. If the such vacancy was created by the departure of a director who was not at that time the most senior in point of service as an elected member of the Board, the terms of those members of the Board who were less senior in point of service than was the director whose departure created the vacancy shall be reduced by one year.

    Awards:  The president announced to the membership, and for the official record, that

    Honorary Memberships were awarded to Zheng Yu Jin, MD, Beijing, China; Markus Schwaiger, MD, Munich, Germany; and Kaori Togashi, MD, PhD, Kyoto, Japan. The president also announced that Gold Medals, the highest honor of the Society, were presented to Gary J. Becker, MD, Tucson, Arizona; Allen S. Lichter, MD, Alexandria, Virginia; and Etta D. Pisano, MD, Charleston, South Carolina.

    Election:  The Committee on Nominations consisted of Gary J. Becker, MD, Tucson, Arizona, and Sarah S. Donaldson, MD, Stanford, California, members; and Ronald L. Arenson, MD, San Francisco, California, Chairman. Dr. Arenson presented the committee’s slate of nominees for election.

    The officers elected were: President-Elect/Secretary-Treasurer Richard L. Baron, MD, Chicago, Illinois; First Vice-President William P. Dillon, MD, San Francisco, California; Second Vice-President William G. Bradley Jr, MD, PhD, San Diego, California; Third Vice-President Katherine P. Andriole, PhD, Brookline, Massachusetts; Board Member to serve a six-year term, Bruce G. Haffty, MD,

    New Brunswick, New Jersey; and Board Member to serve a five-year term, Mary C. Mahoney, MD, Cincinnati, Ohio.

    There was no new business presented and no unfinished business.

    Richard L. Baron, MD